Gregorio’s Substack
Gregorio’s Substack
11 Arp Ex-1993-Sept 2022
0:00
-5:50

11 Arp Ex-1993-Sept 2022

from The Shadowless Land of Used-to-Be

Arp Ex = Arpeggiation Exercise. A funny thing about this one was what happened when I was going through all my old DataDisk media and transferring it into LogicProX so I could preserve it for later work. One of the weird things is that this media, way over 35 years old, was still good. I think there was only one failure in all of the files. And it was a good thing I did it when I had the chance because later that DataDisk and my QX5 sequencer (well, and the everything else the data of which I stored on the DataDisk was stolen in April in a break-in in a Public Storage facility in East Hazel Crest, IL with almost no video surveillance). I’m in the process of getting everything in order to submit the rest of the paperwork for the insurance claim, but I noticed a weird thing there, too, sort of a “heads, they win; tails, I lose” set-up by the insurance company. On the one hand, it seems that if I had bought my equipment brand new, they won’t pay me what it cost me, only what the current used value is. On the other hand, if I bought something used or acquired it as a gift, they won’t pay me what its current used value is, only what (well, only a fraction) of what I paid for it. And this is the insurance company used by Public Storage, which, I notice had just recently decided to take advantage of inflation by announcing a 25% increase in the monthly rental price—so it’s actually grifting on top of robbery.

Another weird thing with respect to this piece of music is what I found when going through some of the old sequences to identify just what they were. I found a version of this Arp Ex that had what amounted to a bridge section starting about 3:47-4:55 that I had overlooked probably because I had needed to shorten it maybe for purposes of submission somewhere. I restored it here because it really was an insane part to have cut out.

Discussion about this podcast