Gregorio’s Substack
Gregorio’s Substack
26 MoroccanTango-1986, Jan1-2022
0:00
-4:51

26 MoroccanTango-1986, Jan1-2022

From The Shadowless Land of Used-to-Be

This one also has no loops as such. I originally did it in 1986. I found my MIDI files in 2022 and then started building on those—well, after having to reframe everything because of the MIDI drift in those old files. But I found that I could chop the whole thing up into individual measures (control-T) and then use MIDI resize to get each measure to match the length of the measure in the LogicPro project. It took a long time because I made sure by going to the highest magnification that I had the beginning of the next unsized measure exactly abutted to the end of the previous (resized) measure. After that, it was a matter of going through them one by one to spot where I needed to adjust things by hand, then re-ligating them (control-J).

Then it’s just a matter of writing all the other parts, mostly by step-writing.

_______

Drawing by me, Close Encounters of the Aztec Kind

Discussion about this podcast